Changing your Perspective – How big things can be seen as little things

 “When you realize that by changing your perspective, big things can be seen as little things, it becomes much harder to worry about anything”

TUT Note from The Universe May 25, 2012.

Yesterday I received a phone call from someone about an issue we had been discussing, an issue that was of some concern to me.  I had already had discussions with a colleague of hers and thought we were moving towards a solution.  When we started this discussion, I quickly realized we were coming from very different perspectives and this could be a challenge in seeking a resolution.  She stated a point upon which her perspective had been developed.  I was surprised to hear this and had some questions about the accuracy of this point.  Upon hearing this, I became curious and asked for further information so I could clarify accuracy.  This was not forth coming.

At this point in the past, I would begin to feel intimidated by the person and my gremlins would have started screaming in my head, “you are wrong and this is going to be a big problem for you”.  From there I would start to worry about my abilities and then…….the worry continues.

Rather than taking this approach I reflected on my current beliefs and also the TUT message above that arrived in my inbox the same day.  Instead of allowing the gremlins space in my head, I decided I would take a different approach, remaining curious and open and creating a different perspective.  My new perspective held no position, instead it was based on patience, a wait and see approach.  Once this was established in my head, I was able to defer my opinion until I had the information needed to confirm accuracy of her position and a detailed description of what that means.  I made my request for this information which she agreed to.  I now can file this issue, including my perspective on it, until I receive the requested information – worry free.

“When you realize that by changing your perspective, big things can be seen as little things, it becomes much harder to worry about anything” – TUT Note from The Universe May 25, 2012.

 

What are you worrying about?

What is it about your perspective that is generating this worry?

How can you look at it differently and change your perspective so you can dim down the worry and remain open and curious to all possible perspectives?

What did you learn?

One thought on “Changing your Perspective – How big things can be seen as little things

  1. Pingback: How you can manage stress by changing perceptions « your communication community

Join our conversation - what do you think?

